What is Health System Support Services (HSS)?


About HSS Course

The healthcare system is a complex network, and keeping it running smoothly requires a dedicated team behind the scenes. This is where Health System Support professionals come in.

What will you be doing?

A Level 5 Certificate in Health System Support (HSS) prepares you for a variety of tasks that ensure the smooth operation of a healthcare institution. Here are some key areas you’ll master:

  • Assessing the System’s Health: You’ll develop the skills to evaluate how well the different parts of the healthcare facility are working together. This could involve analyzing data, identifying bottlenecks, and proposing improvements.
  • Technical Expertise: From managing medical records to using specialized software, you’ll gain the technical know-how to support various healthcare functions.
  • Promoting Efficiency: With your skills, you’ll help streamline processes, ensuring resources are used effectively and patients receive timely care.
  • Administrative Powerhouse: You’ll learn the ropes of administrative procedures, playing a crucial role in keeping the healthcare system functioning smoothly.Certificat

Course Details

An individual enrolling for Health System Support Services course should have any of the following minimum

  • Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education (KCSE) mean grade D (plain)


  • Equivalent qualifications as determined by Kenya National Qualifications
    Authority (KNQA)


  • As may be guided by relevant regulatory body

The total duration of HSS is 1 year, which includes coursework, clinical rotation, and Industrial Attachment.

There will be:

  1. Continuous internal assessments coordinated by BCTI
  2. External Competence assessment at completion of course coordinated by TVET CDACC

You must undergo an industrial attachment for a period of 2/3 months in a recognized hospital with an operation theatre.

The graduate will undertake a 3-month internship in a recognized hospital with an operation theatre.

A candidate will be issued with a Certificate of Competency for each core unit of competency.

To attain the National certificate for Health system support Services Level 5, the candidate must demonstrate competence in all the units of competency as given in
qualification pack.

TVET CDACC will issue these certificates in conjunction with Beta Care Training Institute.

Your application will not be processed before the payment is received.

The 1,000/- registration fee should be paid through Direct Deposit to:

  • Bank: Co-operative Bank
  • Branch: Githunguri
  • Account name: Beta Care Training Institute
  • Account no: 1192538722900

You can also pay via Lipa na M-Pesa; Paybill

  • Business number: 400222
  • Account number: 7229#ID No

Reporting Date for next Intake

May 2024

Please call 0708177909 for more information.

× Click to Chat
Seraphinite AcceleratorOptimized by Seraphinite Accelerator
Turns on site high speed to be attractive for people and search engines.